What would you do?

7 Apr

The other day I got a call from my 20-year-old brother.

“Dude, did mom tell you what happened?” He asked. “It was probably one of the scariest moments of my life.”

Earlier I had received a call from my mom letting me know Mike was a witness to a car accident on his drive back to Louisville, but I didn’t get all the details.

Mike told me that a Cavalier hit a semi, likely misjudging the distance when switching lanes. The car bumped into the truck several times before spinning out and slamming into the rail.

So many passing cars must have witnessed it, but no one pulled over. Mike did. He called 911 and went to check on the driver of the Cavalier. He tried to comfort him but the guy was completely out of it and spitting up blood. Mike’s 911 call didn’t go through, but luckily there was a police car nearby. The ambulance came soon after.

“Did you ever wonder if the radio still works when a car is totaled?” Mike asked me. He said the policeman had to go turn the car off, which was still blaring music despite being totally wrecked.

Now comes the question of the day: what would you do if you witnessed a severe car accident in front of you? I’ve been lucky so far, the only time I’ve been a witness to an accident was in a fender bender by my office. I’ve never had to deal with blood or unconsciousness.

I’m really proud of my brother. Most people wouldn’t—and didn’t—stop. They probably figured someone else had already called it in. Mike told me he thought about what he learned in his sociology classes and decided to prove it wrong. It’s good to know there’s still some human kindness out there. It’s even better that it came from my own brother.

2 Responses to “What would you do?”

  1. Jannie April 14, 2010 at 10:03 pm #

    dude didn’t we learn about this from moskos too? or did i learn it in one of my bazillion psych classes?

    • reneedezvous April 14, 2010 at 10:48 pm #

      Probably… but that was freshman year, how am I supposed to remember? 😉

Leave a Reply

