Gear-grinding band-aids

12 Apr

I’ve been going through a lot of band-aids lately. Not because I cut myself often, but because I consistently make the wrong shoe choice. I all too often chose style over comfort, and have the blisters and band-aid wrappers to prove it.

There are two places that usually require some extra protection whenever I wear flats–along the heel and right where the shoe hits below the toes. There are two types of band-aids that work best for this–the smaller long band-aids, and the small almost round ones. I went to two different stores (Kroger in Kentucky and Target in Chicago) in search of a box of each. At both stores, the only way to get either one is in a variety pack. Why is that, Band-Aid® Brand Adhesive Bandages? Why do you force me to buy a variety pack with all sizes when I only want the small ones? Now I’m going to have a growing collection of giant band-aids I pray I’ll never have to use.

In the words of Peter Griffin, “That’s what really grinds my gears.”

(Random note: anyone realize how racist band-aids are? Has Johnson & Johnson been given crap for that yet? Is that why they make clear band-aids now? They usually cost more than the caucasian ones though. Food for thought.)

4 Responses to “Gear-grinding band-aids”

  1. j3ntan April 13, 2010 at 4:09 pm #

    moleskin works well too!! they can be cut and taped on to the shoe itself 🙂

  2. reneedezvous April 13, 2010 at 4:41 pm #

    That’s a great idea, I’ll have to try that. Thanks! 🙂

  3. Jannie April 14, 2010 at 8:21 pm #

    i swear we already had this discussion about bandaids being racist. probably one of our futon talks actually.

    • reneedezvous April 14, 2010 at 9:38 pm #

      We probably have, I’ve been wondering about it for awhile now!

Leave a Reply

