Today’s library random encounter

20 Apr

I think I should broaden the topic to Random Encounters I Have With People Everywhere. Because today one happened at the library.

I handed the young woman my library card as she scanned my books. “Can I ask you a question?” she asked. “You know a lot about designers and stuff, right?” Her question threw me. I was checking out a book about polygamy and some 80’s sheet music–nothing about designers. The way she asked it was as if I was standing there in a Chanel suit, Louboutins, and an LV bag in my hand. She started talking about a Prada bag she was thinking about buying, but couldn’t tell if it was authentic.

“Oh, she must have seen my Prada purse!” I thought, until I remembered that I wasn’t carrying my purse. I was using a tote bag that featured a Chihuahua in a hat with the phrase “Viva La Revolucion * Rescue * Spay & Neuter” on it. Not exactly designer material. I decided to play along. She asked if most designer bags have the name of the designer on the outside and on the inside. I told her most bags do, but it usually varies with the designer. Prada usually features the logo or name several times throughout the bag. I should have told her that if she has questions about the bag’s authenticity, it probably isn’t real. Or if it’s available for $50 on a street corner. I didn’t say any of that, but she seemed satisfied with my response. I still can’t figure out why she labeled me an expert on designer goods after taking one look at me (in my cheap Forever 21 jacket and Chihuahua tote). I guess I should never underestimate the power of my Armani sunglasses.

2 Responses to “Today’s library random encounter”

  1. Jannie April 21, 2010 at 5:26 am #

    um why were you checking out a book about polygamy?

    • reneedezvous April 22, 2010 at 11:59 pm #

      Because I am oddly fascinated by it. I’m watching Big Love on Netflix now too.

Leave a Reply

