Making the world a better place, one shopping cart at a time

3 May

I have a pet peeve. Ok, I guess it’s not a pet peeve because it should bother everyone, not just me–I’m talking about abandoned carts in parking lots. I’m sure this phenomenon has been going on as long as there have been shopping carts and parking lots and I can’t figure out why. Are people really that lazy that they cannot return their cart to the cart return? I’ve seen carts abandoned mere steps away from their allotted place of return. What gives? The only logical reason I can come up with for abandoning a cart is if it’s a torrential downpour and you just want to get in your car and go. But the abandoned cart I saw today was in an indoor parking lot, so there goes that reasoning.

Abandoned carts can not only cause damage to cars, but (and perhaps more importantly, at least in Chicago) they take up valuable parking spots!

So I’ve taken it upon myself to return abandoned carts. Whenever I see one in a parking lot, I go out of my way to bring it in. I guess you could call it a random act of kindness. It’s my way of making the world a better place, one abandoned shopping cart at a time.

One Response to “Making the world a better place, one shopping cart at a time”

  1. Lisa May 3, 2010 at 9:44 pm #

    People who leave carts in the parking lot are probably the same people who don’t flush the toilet in the public bathrooms.

Leave a Reply

