Voting under the influence?

18 May

Today was primary election day in Kentucky. The explosion of campaign signs that greeted me the minute I got off the interstate yesterday clued me in. But I’m not here to talk Tea Party, I’m here to talk booze. I was “Krogering” with my mom this morning when I saw a typed sign hanging over the beer display: “Alcohol will not be sold until after 6 p.m. on Election Day, Tuesday, May 18.” Granted I don’t know if I’ve ever been in an alcoholic beverage section of a grocery store on election day in any other state, but this rule struck me as a bit odd. Is it just a Kentucky thing? And what are they trying to prevent, drunk voting? I’m stumped.

Leave a Reply

