Buy more and save!

13 Dec

I was at Tesco Express yesterday checking out next to an American woman. How did I know she was an American? Not only did she argue rudely with the cashier over the price of an item, but she insisted the items were “Four for a dollar.” When the cashier gave her a look, she corrected herself to “Four for a pound,” but still kept complaining. The cashier assured her that the discount would come off after everything was rung up, as it always does, but she wouldn’t shut up about it. I wanted to turn around and say, “Just because I’m American doesn’t mean I’m with (or like) her!”

The incident reminded me about something I’ve been meaning to blog about — British grocery store discounts. As you may know, I’m a big fan of sales. I will often buy something I don’t really need and definitely was not planning on buying just because it is on sale. Like American supermarkets, British stores have a lot of weekly sale items. The problem is they are big on the “Buy more and save!” discount. It’s nice when it’s on something I was planning on buying a lot of, such as yogurt, but not when it’s something big like pop or juice. During my jet lag recovery stage I wanted some caffeinated pop. Almost all the brands were on sale 3 two-liters for £3, which is great, except I only wanted one. I could only carry one. If I had a car and infinite refrigerator space, I would always buy more and save. But in most cases, I can only get one, so I have to pay a slightly higher price. That’s what really grinds my gears about British grocery shopping.

And on a final “stupid American” note, my mind must already think it’s in the states, because on my way to the store today I completely forgot which side of the road people drive on and was nearly hit by a car. Guess that means it’s almost time to visit Amurica!

Leave a Reply

