United is the best airline in the world*

4 Jan

Well, friends, either United read my blog post, listened to my calls, or has an unwritten “gimee” policy its customer service reps don’t know about. Whatever it was, I logged into my Mileage Plus account and saw I have Premier Executive status for 2011. Thanks, United, I really appreciate it and look forward to flying with you throughout this crazy year.

Why do I care so much? United, like most airlines, is very status-ist. I notice they treat me significantly different than Stephen, Mr. 1K, whom they greet by name. One time a ticket agent even asked him why he had so many more miles than me, as if people of his mileage status should not be hanging out with us wee just-plain-members. That was before I hit Premier, and now that I’m Premier Executive, I’m looking forward to the royal treatment. I hope that means turning a blind eye if my luggage weighs more than 50 lbs, which may just be the case when I head back, at the rate I’m shopping.

Now if only I can convince Chase that Paypal counts as a direct deposit, I’ll be set.

(*In my previous post I promised to write nothing but good things about United if they gave me the status. Just keeping my promise.)

2 Responses to “United is the best airline in the world*”

  1. Jennifer E January 5, 2011 at 12:02 pm #

    I definitely had plans to find out if Paypal would work to keep my Chase account free. Did you already find out it won’t? 😦 I’ve had my account since my freshman year at NU – First Chicago, Bank One, and now Chase. Of course, I’m not quite as attached since they stopped putting the Chicago skyline on my debit card.

  2. reneedezvous January 5, 2011 at 4:56 pm #

    I still have my Chicago skyline debit card 🙂 According to the banker I talked to, Paypal counts as long as you transfer $500 (or more) at one time.

Leave a Reply

