A post about cherries

25 May

I’m breaking my no-posting streak with a post about cherries. I really like cherries, I wish I could eat them everyday. But I can’t and don’t because they are too blooming expensive. Why is that? Are they hard to grow? A tiny container of them at Sainsbury’s is £4 ($6.50) and they go for £10.99 ($17.80) a kg at Waitrose. I remember in China a tiny container cost the equivalent of $20.

My inner cheapo trumps my cherry love. And then I passed a little sidewalk fruit stall on my walk back from the store today. They had cherries for what looked like £2.50 a pound, which is pretty reasonable. (Brits should really commit to the pound or kilogram, it’s confusing). But I resisted, because of the lady who runs the stall. She’s a smoker. I know I shouldn’t be prejudice towards other people and their life choices, but this lady smokes while standing right next to the fruit. So my beloved cherries are frequently surrounded by a cloud of smoke. I don’t know about cigarette smoke’s ability to penetrate cherry skin, but I don’t want to risk it. So no cherries for me. I just have to be patient and wait for them to go on sale.

2 Responses to “A post about cherries”

  1. Mary September 2, 2013 at 2:57 pm #

    I have avoided restaurants, hair salons and other establishments because of seeing employees smoke. It grosses me out.
    I am an American living in Northern Ireland. It is a big adjustment!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Why is there a child on my donut peaches? | Reneedezvous - August 19, 2013

    […] runs a stall conveniently located on my walk to the grocery store, but I used to avoid her because she smokes near the fruit. But her prices are better than the supermarket and she calls me “love,” so I’ve […]

Leave a Reply

