My Wii Fit thinks I’m fat

5 Jun

I have a love-hate relationship with my Wii Fit. I love that it disguises exercise as fun and games, and keeps track of my weight. I hate that it calls me fat.

OK, it doesn’t come right out and say that. In fact, it tells me that my BMI is normal and I weigh less than the average for my height. But yesterday I did a body test and it told me I gained .4 lbs. You can eat hamburgers that weigh more than that. But Wi Fit reprimanded me for this, gave me a list of possible reasons why I may be gaining weight, and told me to pick one. Some of the reasons were eating too much, snacking too much, and eating poorly. I picked “I don’t know,” because it was probably a combo of all of those, then it gave me a lesson on calorie intake, but ended with “your weight can fluctuate 2 lbs over the course of the day, so try to take the test at the same time each day.” I had taken the previous day’s test at a different time — why was that not one of the listed reasons for my minuscule weight gain?

Wii Fit is a video game, and sometimes I treat it too much like that — like a game. Except instead of getting a high score, I’m trying to get a low weight. I know, I know, nobody likes a skinny girl who thinks she’s fat (I should put that on a T-shirt, like those “Everybody loves an Italian girl” shirts that were big for awhile). I know I’m not fat, but I’m not exactly fit. (I start huffing and puffing when I have to go up more than two flights of stairs). I never really knew how much I weighed or cared about it, until I started using Wii Fit over two years ago. Wii Fit is supposed to make me want to work out and feel good about myself, but instead it makes me feel like a fattie for gaining .4 pounds. I once took a body test while I had the stomach flu and it said I lost 5 lbs, and praised me. I then made the mistake of taking another test when I felt better and it said I gained 3 lbs, then gave me the “You’re a fatty, now tell me why!” spiel, but “I just had the stomach flu and can finally keep down food and water,” wasn’t an option.

In short, I still love my Wii Fit and I need to learn to take its advice and criticisms with a grain of salt. Still, I wonder if Wii Fit ever plays a part in eating disorders.

One Response to “My Wii Fit thinks I’m fat”

  1. tara July 18, 2011 at 6:04 pm #

    LOL! I stopped using my Wii Fit for that reason. I started stripping off layers of clothes to step on the board for fear that Wii would reprimand me for a normal fluctuation after I was made to come up with some confession to explain a half pound gain. No one should feel the need to play Wii naked to avoid a lecture. 😉 I love the games, but there should be a way to make that weigh in stuff optional!

Leave a Reply

