Renee, Who Used to Be Rich Before She Came Back to America

6 Jun

Wow, listening to old familiar music with new headphones is like listening to a whole new song — I keep hearing sounds, thinking they’re outside, but they’re in the song, I just never heard them before with the crappy standard Apple earbuds. The sound isolating helps too, I don’t even know if Grandpa Daycare is still happening outside my window. (Our neighbors watch their grandkids every single day and they are often outside running around and screaming. I swear I saw a little girl with a pretend AK47 while we were eating dinner. Kids these days…)

So I bought new headphones. I told myself I wasn’t going to buy anything else and would save an expensive headphone purchase for Christmatime, but I had an Alexander moment — Alexander, Who Used to Be Rich Last Sunday. I memorized and recited that book for my high school’s speech contest years ago. The basic premise is this kid gets money from his grandparents and decides he’s absolutely, positively going to save it, but then he keeps seeing cool things to buy (which of course aren’t that cool, like a deck of cards missing cards or a melted down candle), then before he knows it he has no money left. That’s how my life has been since I’ve been back in the states.

I was absolutely not buying any more stuff to take back to London. I was absolutely, positively not buying anything else. …But then I saw these headphones. $200 headphones on sale for $35. I had to have those headphones. Headphones won’t add much weight to my suitcase. …Goodbye $35.

I am not looking forward to the day when I must pack all this stuff into one suitcase, one carry-on, and one “personal item” (ie the new laptop bag Stephen asked me to buy for him. Yes, I am not the only one with this “I am absolutely not buying anything else… after I buy this” mentality.)

And for those of you who were wondering, I did managed to find a decent human being who made me a reasonable offer for the laptop on Craigslist, so I got that taken care of.

Since this post is lacking closure, here’s a photo of a panda eating a carrot:

Leave a Reply

