On Wings of Harmony Butterfly Show at Krohn’s Conversatory, or That time I took a buttload of butterfly photographs

21 Jun

Since yesterday’s post was full of anger towards technology, I figured today I would praise some technology: my camera. The other day we went to the Krohn Conservatory to see the On Wings of Harmony international butterfly show. My mom had never been to a butterfly exhibit before and was excited to go. I, on the other hand, have been to butterfly enclosures twice — once in Niagara Falls, the other time at the London Zoo, and both times I was a little freaked out. The butterflies are beautiful, yes, but they land on you. I do not like things landing on me, no matter how beautiful and colorful they are. So I went this time with a mission — take lots and lots of pictures! If you recall, I got a new camera not too long ago, and I am obsessed with close-up, shallow depth of field photographs. What better place to take those than at a butterfly show? So while everyone was marveling at the beautiful wings of harmony (what does that even mean?…) and children were attempting to grab the butterflies despite being told not to, I was trying to take a photo of every single butterfly, which took a little while since there were 16,000. No joke. I don’t want to toot my own horn, but I think my photos turned out pretty good considering I don’t have a big DSLR with expensive lenses.

This one was hard to capture because it kept flapping its wings rapidly:

One landed on my mom’s arm. Check out its tongue!

Then it curled its tongue back in:

Random giant butterfly hanging out on some lady’s back. That’s the kind of thing I didn’t want to happen to me!

They brought out some new butterflies while we were there:

Then the new butterflies proceeded to land on random kids:

According to the website, the aluminum structure was built by Cincinnati’s Vulkane Industrial Arts. If you look closely you can see the butterflies in action I captured.

Kids and their chubby fingers were constantly ruining my photos/bothering butterflies:

I kept taking sneaky photos of butterflies on people:

I’ll spare you the rest of my 15,983 butterfly photos. And in case you were wondering, I managed to make it through without a single butterfly landing on me, maybe because I was wearing a black shirt. One did land on my camera for a second, although that may blow my black theory since my camera is black. Overall it was a fun experience, especially with a camera. If you’re in the Cincinnati area, I recommend checking it out — it’s at the Krohn Conservatory through July 15.

One Response to “On Wings of Harmony Butterfly Show at Krohn’s Conversatory, or That time I took a buttload of butterfly photographs”

  1. Jenn June 26, 2012 at 5:39 pm #

    Wow! These are amazing pictures!

Leave a Reply

