When life gives you lemons, find some pugs

31 Jan

Today was one of those deceiving UK weather days that I should be better at predicting. It was sunny with a blue sky, then it rained, then the sun came out again. That was when I made my break and headed to the 99p Store to stock up on candles, drain cleaner and other items that only seem attractive because they’re cheap. The walk there is always easiest. It’s the walk back when I have to carry my purchases that I question my life choices. Today especially I felt like I was never going to get home. My fingers were starting to lose circulation and I wasn’t even to Primrose Hill yet. And then the wind came, followed by the rain. I thought the end had come — that I was going to come to my final demise on the sidewalk outside the park, surrounded by a variety of items that only cost 99p. I needed something to keep me going — a sign that everything was going to be alright. I needed to see pugs.

I trudged into the park, my headphones blowing out of my ears, my hood blowing off of my head, when I saw them — not one, not two, but three pugs. They were on a different path going a different direction, but still, I saw them. I knew I could make it home.

running pugs

Switching gears here, I could never be a smoker. Not just because cigarettes smell horrible and I don’t want to die of lung cancer, but because I am incapable of using disposable lighters. You see, I’ve been into candles lately, but my restaurant match collection is dwindling, so I intended to buy a grill lighter at the 99p Store. But since it’s the middle of winter, they don’t sell barbecue lighters, so I was forced to buy disposable cigarette lighters. I just spent the last 10 minutes trying to flick it on. I even googled “How to use a lighter” and watched Youtube videos of people doing it, but I couldn’t get a solid flame, just sparks. When I finally did manage a solid flame, I tried to bend the lighter into the candle and almost burned my thumb. Apparently you’re supposed to angle the candle into the flame, not the other way around.

Needless to say I’ll be taking this to my next rock concert instead:

bic concert lighter

 

3 Responses to “When life gives you lemons, find some pugs”

  1. Jeni Johnson February 2, 2013 at 10:48 pm #

    It’s actually out of happy stance I came across your blog. 1st, we have a fawn Pug named Murphy and 2nd, just yesterday, I bought this special addition lighter in pink for lighting my candles. The Flick my Bic phrase just seemed so fierce, kinda like Murph!

    • reneedezvous February 5, 2013 at 3:19 pm #

      That’s funny! Murphy is adorable, you had me at “Pug Circus!” 🙂

      • Jeni Johnson February 6, 2013 at 1:04 pm #

        Pugs, natural clowns. 🙂

Leave a Reply

