Green oatmeal protein pancakes recipe

12 Aug

I never used to be a breakfast person. In fact, I can’t even remember what I used to eat in the morning throughout high school and college. But then I discovered glorious oatmeal. And green smoothies. And now I find myself going to bed anxious because I’m so excited about what I’m going to eat in the morning.

I think I have a problem.

Today, I had a specific problem — I could not decide between a green smoothie, oatmeal or protein pancakes. That’s when it hit me — green oatmeal protein pancakes. I could combine them all! The result was glorious. My hands were covered in green batter and my kitchen still smells like burnt butter, but my concoction was a success. So much so that I’m going to share the recipe and my rambling pseudo-expat blog can momentarily become a food blog.

Green oatmeal protein pancakes

green pancakes

Serves 1

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup oats (I used a mixture of instant, jumbo rolled and steel-cut because I always have three types of oatmeal (porridge) on hand. Regular old-fashioned rolled oats work)
  • 1/4 cup cottage cheese
  • 1 or 2 egg whites
  • Banana
  • Handful of spinach
  • Dash of cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • Spoonful of ground flaxseed (optional)
  • Milk of choice

Recipe:

  1. Combine all the ingredients in a blender. Add a small amount of milk (I used almond milk) to get the batter moving. You don’t want the batter to be too runny though.
  2. Spoon batter into bowl and then onto greased frying pan and cook like normal pancakes. (I do not know how to do this well, which is why my kitchen smells like burnt butter and I only made one photo-worthy pancake.)

Optional steps if you did not pour batter into bowl and spooned it from the blender instead, getting batter on your hands each time you dipped in:

  1. Google “Is eating raw eggs bad?” then read way too many bodybuilding forums.
  2. Decide that raw egg salmonella is a rumor perpetuated by moms over the decades to get kids to stop eating cookie dough, and lick pancake batter off hands and blender.

I topped my green oatmeal protein pancakes with fruit and homemade caramel sauce, but you can choose your topping based on which of your breakfast cravings is strongest. Smoothie? Fresh fruit. Oatmeal? Granola. Pancakes? Syrup.

And in case you were wondering, here is what the rest of my pancakes looked like. Not exactly food blog worthy, but I’m learning:

pancakes fail

Hope you enjoy my very first recipe!

Leave a Reply

