iPod Touch running apps

1 Nov

I am finally going to join the 21st century and get an iPhone. I say “going to” because said iPhone is already purchased (an early Christmas present!), but has just left Anchorage, Alaska after journeying through China and Korea, and is en-route to my parents’ house, where it will hopefully be there to great me at the end of the month. I’ve been resisting the smartphone bandwagon because I like my cheap pay-as-you-go plan and, perhaps most importantly, I have an iTouch. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve had to explain to my smartphone-loving friends that an iPod Touch is basically an iPhone that can’t make or receive calls. I can even text my friends’ iPhones with iMessage. I became convinced that my 3-year-old iTouch is really just a phoneless iPhone even more when I discovered it had GPS capabilities (or so I thought…).

Now that I’m getting more into running I was thinking about getting a Garmin watch, but realized I could probably use my new iPhone to track my runs. The other day it dawned on me that I didn’t have to wait until I got back to the US and unshrinkwrapped my new phone — I could use my iTouch! So I downloaded Runkeeper and headed towards Hyde Park. Everything was going swimmingly until a voice came on and told me my pace was 5 minutes a mile! Once I got into the park, the app started going berserk, drawing a crooked path and backtracking. After I finished roughly 5 miles, the app voice proudly told me I completed 11.4 miles at a pace of 6:18/mile. I probably should have posted it to Facebook to show off. At that point I blamed Runkeeper and tried MapMyRun the next day. I took a different route, thinking all the greenery and trees of the park blocked the signals. For the first time I ran for a solid hour — almost 6 miles, which MapMyRun told me was 6.75 miles — not accurate, but much more reasonable than 11.4.

My iTouch may be able to text and play games like an iPhone, but apparently it’s missing a GPS chip and just uses WiFi signals around the area. If that’s  true, it’s pretty impressive that it was only .75 miles off yesterday. I guess I will have to try out my iPhone 5s before I decide if I need a fitness watch.

(I realize this post is boring for those who don’t care about iPhones or running, so here is a picture of a fat pug and obese corgi dressed up as a fat pug and obese corgi for Halloween)

fat pug corgi halloween

One Response to “iPod Touch running apps”

  1. Chocolate Covered Race Medals November 1, 2013 at 12:44 pm #

    Dang it I need a smart phone!

Leave a Reply

