Fitbit Charge HR release

8 Dec

I finally had to cave and create a “To Do” list. If you haven’t noticed, I haven’t posted since I’ve been back in the U-S-A, because I haven’t had many free minutes to myself. It’s a challenge trying to balance working from home practically full time, exercising, eating all the food, buying all the things and spending time with family and friends. But they say you make time when something is really important, so since Thursday I’ve been obsessively trying to track down a FitBit Charge HR.

My regular readers may know my obsession with my Fitbit Force. That’s something else I should add to the list of time-eating activities above — trying to hit 10,000 steps everyday when it’s cold outside. The floors of my parents’ house are soon to be as well-worn as my flat’s. I cannot live a day without my fitness tracker, but my Force is on its last legs. It’s been super glued together multiple times. I was excited when Fitbit announced the Force’s replacement, the Charge, and even more excited about the Charge HR. OK, excited is an understatement — I HAD TO HAVE ONE. It has all the functions of my Force, plus continuous heart rate monitoring. I know wrist heart rate monitoring is likely not very accurate, but still, I must know if my heart rate raises and I burn extra calories baking cookies and shoveling snow and other activities that do not require a swinging arm.

My initial excitement over the Charge HR announcement was immediately crushed when I read the release date: early 2015. I am only in the US until early 2015, and I doubt Fitbit’s definition of “early” is the first week of January. So I would either have to wait to buy the Charge HR the next time I’m in the country, have my parents overpay to ship it to me, or overpay for it in the UK. None of those options sounded good. But then rumors online started spreading — stores like Target and Best Buy were making shelf space for the Charge HR, which they likely wouldn’t do around Christmastime unless it was arriving soon. People online would contact their local stores and report back potential launch dates, but nobody got an exact answer. But then on Thursday it happened — Fitbit sent out exclusive emails to those who registered interest on their site, inviting them to purchase the Charge HR before the main 2015 release. I had registered my interest on the website. But I did not receive an email. I watched as more and more people reported their emails with excitement, but I received nothing. Someone mentioned he spoke to a Fitbit rep who said the main launch was still happening in 2015, but a small shipment of Charge HRs were being sent to select retailers soon. I scoured the web trying to find an exact date of arrival or a site that would likely have them in stock. I remember going through this last year when my Force was so backordered I didn’t think I’d receive it before I flew to London. I was just about to start calling my local Best Buy, Target and Wal-Mart, when I checked my email and there it was:

fitbit charge hr emailI guess I wasn’t cool enough to be a part of the initial email batch, but I’m still cool. I wasn’t allowed to use my 15% off coupon for being a Force owner, but I was willing to spend $22.50 more if it meant I could get my Charge HR months early. The email arrived on Friday and I got free overnight shipping, so this was at my doorstep Saturday morning:

PICTURE OF CHARGE HR

That space was intentionally left blank, because MY CHARGE HR DID NOT ARRIVE ON SATURDAY! I started writing this post on Friday with the intention of posting it on Saturday after I got my Fitbit, but it didn’t come. My parents and I ran errands all morning, making sure one of us was always home to greet the FedEx guy. Except my tracking number was still just showing “label created,” which is never a good sign despite being marked Saturday delivery. It wasn’t until Saturday night that the tracking info was updated for a Monday delivery. “Next day” my butt, but good things come to those who wait, right? And so this was on my doorstep this morning:

Fitbit Charge HR prereleaseI immediately charged it up, transferred my data from my Force, and took it out for a run. It wasn’t my best run (a recap about how I’m using the excuse of a dog bite to explain my poor Thanksgiving Day Race performance is forthcoming), but as far as I can tell, the heart rate tracking is pretty good. Here’s the Charge HR (left) next to my beat-up Force:

fitbit charge HR vs forceMy Force served me well over the year, but I’m excited for life with the Charge HR.

And for those of you who don’t care about Fitbits in the slightest, here is a photo of a bah humpug:

bah humpug

6 Responses to “Fitbit Charge HR release”

  1. Mary Purifoy Bryant December 10, 2014 at 5:27 pm #

    You’ve sold me, I want one!

  2. Alicia December 14, 2014 at 10:14 pm #

    Any idea of stores that may be getting the shipment? I didn’t notice an email from fitbit.. But I only recently registered.

    • reneedezvous December 14, 2014 at 10:23 pm #

      I’ve heard some Targets have them in stock and Dick’s has them online. Good luck!

      • Alicia December 16, 2014 at 6:57 pm #

        I was able to pick one up online at Dicks. should have it by Friday. So how do you like it so far? I am interested in tracking my calorie burn.

      • reneedezvous December 17, 2014 at 1:49 pm #

        I love it! The heart rate monitor seems relatively accurate and I think it helps with tracking calorie burn.

Leave a Reply

