Winning the Kinky Boots ticket lottery

21 Jan

As much as I love a good day seat queue, I am definitely a fan of the app TodayTix. Yesterday I entered the Kinky Boots ticket lottery with a click of a button while lying in bed, then a couple hours later I got an email that I had won! An A16 (front row center) seat for £25 without standing outside in the cold for hours? I’ll take it!

kinky boots ticket lottery
Since it was a nice sunny day (by winter’s standards), I decided to walk the 3 miles to the theatre (ulterior motive: Fitbit steps!). When I was about 15 minutes away from the theatre, I felt something wet land on my head. “Please be water,” I pleaded to myself, knowing full well that there was no reason for water to be dripping from the sky on a sunny day in a country where people don’t have many window air-conditioner units (and those who do don’t run them in January). I stepped aside and opened my phone’s front-facing camera. Sure enough there was a centimeter-long smidgen of bird poo in my hair. I got out a tissue and tried to remove it, but that’s easier said than done without water or a proper mirror. I power-walked the rest of the way to the theatre and hoped they didn’t refuse me at the door because of their strict no bird poo policy. I made a beeline for the loo and removed the poo as best I could with one-ply toilet paper, water and a comb. The whole time Rodney Ruxin from The League was in my head:

forever unclean gif.gif
My high school drama teacher used to say an actor’s job is to make the audience forget that they are sitting in uncomfortable chairs. Kinky Boots was so good it made me forget that I had remnants of bird poo in my hair. I did immediately shower when I got home though. They say getting pooped on by a bird is good luck. Maybe I’d believe that if it happened before I won the ticket lottery!

Leave a Reply

