You can’t trust theatre reviews, hand to god

24 Feb

I should know by now to take theatre (and movie) reviews with a grain of salt. A few weeks ago I saw Harold Pinter’s The Homecoming because it got rave reviews and the description sounded interesting. I went home in a funk and didn’t even understand half of it. And then I realized all the shows I haven’t LOVED in London have a common theme: Harold Pinter. First Old Times, then The Homecoming. Then it occurred to me that my high school junior drama class performed a series of short plays that didn’t make sense to half of us, all written by, you guessed it, Harold Pinter. Am I allowed to call myself a theatre fan and not enjoy Pinter?

hand to god london

You know what I do enjoy though? Foul-mouthed puppets. And that’s what I saw today in Hand to God. It was described as Avenue Q meets The Book Of Mormon, two shows I adored, so I was all in. The New York Times called it “Kinda Sesame St meets The Exorcist” which was true. It’s the story of a Lutheran puppet ministry that goes south when one of the boy’s hand puppets appears to be possessed by the devil. It was certainly raunchy and scandalous, but it was also laugh-out-loud funny (in the literal sense. I laughed out loud multiple times, which I rarely do at the theatre). Naturally it got panned by critics, which may explain how I was able to get such a good seat for such a good price. It’s a shame, but I can’t really complain too much.

If only I had seen it in NYC, where Bob Saget played Pastor Greg. I saw Bob Saget’s stand up show in college and it was so raunchy my first guess was that Saget would somehow be playing the possessed puppet. Though I distinctly remember someone waiting in line for the Saget show all those years ago shouting “Bob Saget is God!” so maybe playing the pastor isn’t too far off.

Leave a Reply

