Long runs and seriously, what’s up with this weather, London?

29 Apr

I have decided that 57F/14C and sunny is the perfect weather. A few weeks ago we were driving along the Thames, sun beating down but still a nice breeze in the air, and I made this revelation. I also made another decision — I was going to run to Big Ben the next week. This was an easy decision to make from the comfort of the car, but took a little more convincing once my long run day arrived. But I did it — I ran 8 miles, my longest distance to date. I was not accounting for the massive amount of tourists that would be blocking most of the pavement when I calculated the route. It turns out running by Big Ben seems a lot more glamorous than it is. There’s a reason most runners stick to the royal parks when running in central London.

And speaking of running in royal parks, remember how gutted I was that I did not receive a place in the Royal Parks Half? Well, this happened the other day:

richmond half email

I’m officially registered for the Richmond Half on September 18. It’s a bit outside central London, but we’ll get to run through Kew Gardens, which sounds awesome. (And yes, the Richmond Half is in London, not Virginia, USA, which makes it hard to google!) The website tells me the race is still 141 days away, which seems like ages, but I’m sure it’ll sneak up on me. Once it gets closer I’m going to attempt to adhere to a training program to ensure I’m ready to tackle the 13.1-mile beast.

And since I opened with talking about the weather, I’ll close with it.

This morning I looked out my window and saw a brilliant blue sky. I was debating about whether I wanted to run, but the British Sun Guilt kicked in and I decided to go for it. I busted out the extreme 70 spf sweatproof sunscreen (can never be too safe!), donned my sunglasses and set out. It was 52F/11C, which is almost ideal running weather.

…30 minutes later I was covered in snow. SNOW. In April. When it’s 52 degrees. Someone please explain to me how that is scientifically possible?! I was a mile away from home, soaking wet and shivering. I could barely feel my fingers as they struggled to grip my plastic bag-covered iPhone (I always keep a little baggie in my pocket for these exact scenarios). There’s an old saying in the running community that you never regret a run — even when you have a really crummy one and you’re just not feeling it, you’re still glad you got out there. As I was struggling to wipe the rain drops and melted snowflakes off my sunglasses with my frozen fingers, I wondered if that was 100% true.

angry snow

3 Responses to “Long runs and seriously, what’s up with this weather, London?”

  1. Simon April 30, 2016 at 8:18 am #

    Lol running in show, well that’s not something I’ve ever attempted! Seeing your experience with it I don’t think I’ll give it a try either. 😉

  2. Sundayfluke May 2, 2016 at 12:04 am #

    The Richmond Half sounds like it will be awesome! 😊 And I know what you mean about the crazy weather lol, but this week is meant to be super sunny, so I’m sure you will clock some good mileage!

Leave a Reply

