Bloody no longer trusty running shoes

13 May

So my running shoes are stained with blood now. Before you panic, no, I did not get seriously injured nor step on some innocent creature. I’ve been wearing the same running shoes since January and have never had any problems with blisters or weird rubbing. But since yesterday was warm, I decided to wear thin socks. I’ve worn these socks before, but they’re not my go-to. About 2 miles into my run I felt something on my ankle. I stopped, thinking a rock or leaf had gotten into my shoe, but instead noticed the skin was peeling off and getting irritated from rubbing against the shoe. This is a problem I’m all too familiar with with flats and heels, and well, pretty much any shoe that is not my running shoe. But my trusty trainers have never let me down like this. I tried to push on, but the pain was starting to get to me. I ripped my sweat tissue in half (yes, I always carry a tissue in each pocket — one for sweat, one for snot. Gross, I know) and attempted to use it as a cushion between my ankle and my shoe, but it didn’t do much. I then tried to vary my gait by running on the tips of my toes. This relieved the pain, but seemed like a sprained ankle waiting to happen. That, and I looked feckin ridiculous. Like this pug:


I gave up and clicked “workout finished” on Mapmyrun then pseudo-limped the mile home. It seems I now need to add Band-aids to my emergency running kit (which so far just consists of a 20p coin in case I need to use the loo in the park. But considering how anti-paying-to-pee I am, it would have to be a super big emergency.)

I got home and drenched my bloody sock in Oxyclean, but didn’t bother to clean the back of my shoe. It feels like some strange badge of honor. But now I’m in a conundrum. Running shoes are supposed to be replaced every 500 miles, and so far I’ve put 334.99 on these ones (yes, that is the exact figure from Mapmyrun). I wasn’t planning on buying new shoes until I’m back in the US in July. So here’s hoping I can make these bloody shoes survive for the next 2 months with the right socks and Band-aids.

One Response to “Bloody no longer trusty running shoes”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Eurovision and more in no particular order… | Reneedezvous - May 17, 2016

    […] but my Band-aid on my ankle was starting to fall off and I didn’t want another incident like last week. It seems to be healing though, so hopefully that was just a freak thing and I just won’t […]

Leave a Reply

